DALLAS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT #327 REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING APRIL 25, 2019 – 7:00 P.M. CAFETERIA

The meeting was called to order at 7:02 p.m.

Members answering roll were:

Monika Ryan	Present	Sarah Schaefer	Present
Beth Webster	Present	Natalie Lionberger	Absent
Shasta Heidbreder	Present	Chris Greenhalge	Present
Bob Castillo	Present		

Also present were: Dr. Lee, Mrs. Tucker, Lee Wibbell, Mrs. Ryner, Mark Cox with the Journal Pilot, Ethan Woolbrink with VanMeter, Inc., Tim and Dennis Woolbrink with Tri-State Renewable Energy, Mark Lowman with Lowman Electric LLC

A moment of silence was observed.

Chris Greenhalge asked about the potholes at the end of the drive. The city will come in the summer and hopefully they will fill them.

The consent agenda was presented to the board for review. A motion was made by Ryan seconded by Webster to approve the items on the Consent Agenda as presented (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Natalie Lionberger	Abstain
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Abstain

The Bills were presented to the Board for payment. A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Scahefer to pay the bills as presented (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Natalie Lionberger	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

The Board Member code of conduct rule #1 was read from the IASB Code of Conduct principles.

President of the Board Bob Castillo announced the results of the newly elected board members. Sara Schaefer, Bob Castillo, and Beth Webster were reelected to 4-year terms. Lee Wibbell was elected to a 4-year term and Shasta Heidbreder will serve a 2-year term. Dr. Lee administered the oath of office to the five recently elected members. They read the oath aloud in unison.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Greenhalge to appoint Dr. Lee as President Pro Tem (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

The President Pro Tem asked for nominations for President of the Board.

A motion was made by Webster, seconded by Ryan to elect Bob Castillo as Board President (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	-	

Motion carried 7 Yeas

The President asked for nominations for Vice President.

A motion was made by Ryan, seconded by Heidbreder to elect Beth Webster as Board Vice President (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

A motion was made by Webster, seconded by Greenhalge to elect Shasta Heidbreder as Board Secretary (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

Natalie Lionberger was recognized and presented with a plaque thanking her for 4 years of service to the Dallas Elementary School District.

Dennis and Tim Woolbrink from Tri-State Renewable Energy gave a presentation on solar panels. A decision was made that insurance needs to be checked into and this will be an action item at next board meeting.

Dr. Lee went over the packet of information that included trend data on the district.

A recommendation was made that board meetings continue to be on the 3rd Thursday of the month.

A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Wibbell to set the date, time, and location of regular Board meetings for the third Thursday of each month, or as otherwise noted, at 7:00 p.m. in the school district cafeteria. The November meeting will be changed to Monday, November 25 (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	-	

Motion carried 7 Yeas

The final School calendar for this year must be approved. There have been several emergency days and the calendar had to be changed several times. The last day of school will be June 3, 2019.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Ryan to approve the 2018-2019 Final School Calendar (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

Dr. Lee gave the board a rough draft of 2019-2020 calendar. This is a rough draft because the specifics of what will be required for next year still have not been released. The expected calendar may not be available until May or June.

A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Ryan to schedule the FY 2019 Budget Amendment Hearing for 7:00 p.m. on June 20, 2019 (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Wibbell to renew the Athletic Coop Agreement with La Harpe for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

A motion was made by Wibbell, seconded by Ryan to approve the ISBE Consolidated District Plan (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	-	

Motion carried 7 Yeas

A motion was made by Webster, seconded by Greenhalge to approve the Social Studies Curriculum for grades 3-5, 7 & 8 grades as presented (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

Bob Ryan has volunteered to be on the Finance Committee. The hope is this committee will have more members and will be able to meet this summer.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Greenhalge to approve the purchase of SDS Financial Software at the cost of \$11,000 (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

To be incompliance with state regulations we need to have contact with a company to do random drug and alcohol testing for bus drivers. It is currently \$63.25 per bus driver annually.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Wibbell to approve the contract with Mid-West Truckers Association for Bus Driver Random Drug Testing (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

Principal and Superintendent reports were given to the board.

A motion was made by Wibbell, seconded by Greenhalge to enter the Closed Meeting at 9:09 p.m. to discuss items per 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1)(10) (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

A motion was made by Webster, seconded by Schaefer to leave closed meeting and return to open meeting on April 25, 2019 at 10:12 p.m.

A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Ryan to approve the Personnel Report as presented (Roll Call).

Monika Ryan	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 7 Yeas

A motion was made by Wibbell, seconded by Ryan to adjourn at 10:20 p.m. (voice).

The next regular Board of Education meeting will be held May 16, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. The Committee of the Whole will meet before the regular board meeting on May 16, 2019 at 6:15 p.m.

Board President, Bob Castillo

Board Secretary, Shasta Heidbeder

Approved:_____